Question about accesibility features

I just learned about this engine, played the demo game. It looks cool and I am interested in learning more and making something myself, but first I have some questions.
Is it possible to:

• give the player the ability to adjust text size?
  • Give the player an option to change the scaling the UI?
  • have a different modes, like a high contrast mode or a colorblind mode?
  • have the player choose the font themselves from a couple of options (such as switching to a dyslectic friendly font)
    I played the demo game in the browser and I would have liked an option to make everything bigger in order to read the text more comfortably, “CTRL +” did not work to enlarge everything.
    I am not a coder, just a random disabled artist, so I have no idea how I would go about implementing such features myself.
1 Like

The demo is a bit out of date as I haven’t rebuilt it in a while, so some of the recent features don’t appear in it. I need to rebuild and update it:

Yes it’s a thing now there’s a slider in the game menu

The font size slider scales a lot of things, but not everything. Games are designed on a fixed size/ratio of things, so scaling the whole UI doesn’t really work (if you increase the size of the dialogue panel, does the viewport have to become smaller?)

I generally have made the default CSS of the engine to use REM units as much as possible, which scale as a multiplier of the base body font size. Moving the font size slider in game settings changes that base body font size, which will make most things scale with it.

Not specifically, but that kind of stuff would be up to the game to implement. I recently made an example game with theme-swapping that can dynamically swap between different versions of the layout (which mean being able to load different versions of CSS files, and also the config).